Week 2: World Geography

I love traveling, but my knowledge of country locations is quite lacking. I was teaching a student a few weeks ago, and the vocabulary list included the words ‘map’ and ‘globe’. I pulled a world map off the wall so that she could investigate it. The map had the continents labelled, but no country names. She kept pointing to the map and asking “What country is here?” and “What’s that?”. I found myself guessing the majority of the time. With that, world geography made the list of things to brush up on.

For this week of learning, I will be using my friend’s high school Geography textbook, and two websites as my primary sources for learning:

Shepherd Software: Geography Games (http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/Geography.htm)

Free Rice: Geography (http://freerice.com/category)

I like Sheppard Software’s layout because it provides tutorials, games and quizzes increasing in difficulty for each region. And I like Free Rice because it’s just an awesome site – how can you not like learning and donating rice at the same time? I also like Free Rice because the program gives you the correct answer after incorrectly answering a question, and recycles questions you have answered incorrectly more frequently.

My plan is to focus on a region each day; the Americas, Asia, the Middle East and North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, Europe, and Oceania. I will concentrate on learning country names, major bodies of water, major landmarks (cultural and topographical), and some fun facts about each region.

Hopefully, the next time that I come across a lesser known country mentioned in a news article, I will be able to focus on the content of the article and put it into context without having to hop over to Google Maps and figure out where the country is first.

Leave a Reply

