Week 3: Eggs 5 Ways

Ever since adopting a low-carb/high protein breakfast routine, my love for eggs has grown. It was hard to give up bagels and breakfast sandwiches at first, but once I started to feel the benefits of eating a low-carb breakfast, I was sold.

When I’m making eggs for myself I usually just stick to the classics: boiled, fried, or scrambled. But I figure it’s time to learn some alternative ways of cooking eggs. Some of these I have made before, but I don’t know the proper technique for each. So I will commit a day to each one, and play around with the directions and tips that I find to see what works best for me.

The Five Ways
-Fried – sunny side up, over-easy, over-well.
-Poached – Egg cooked in simmering liquid.
-Coddled – Eggs that are steamed or baked in an egg coddler with a lid. (Will make baked eggs if I can’t find a coddler.)
-Steamed – A popular dish in Asia with many regional interpretations. The result should be silky smooth eggs, with a consistency like custard.
-Tea – A common savory snack in Taiwan, and throughout most of Asia. It’s essentially a hard-boiled egg that has been simmered and steeped in spiced tea.

Leave a Reply

