Fried Egg 3 Ways

I revisited my fried egg day, in order to perfect timing, etc for three different types of fried eggs – sunny side up, over-easy, and over-well. My biggest complaint about over-easy eggs from restaurants, is that the whites around the yolk are often uncooked, and a gloopy mess. So, I wanted to show that they can be made to have set egg whites and a nice runny yolk.

One of my Taiwanese friends also wanted to learn the difference between the three, so I took this as an opportunity to teach her. In Taiwan, fried eggs are usually made by dropping the egg on the skillet, smooshing the yolk with the spatula, flipping the egg, and serving it up cooked through and through. I understand that preparing it this way saves time, but it transforms the egg such that the distinct flavors and textures of the yolk and egg whites are lost, and it’s not as aesthetically pleasing.

I should have flipped the over-easy egg a few seconds sooner so that the whites would have surrounded the yolk a bit more, and kept it from cooking. But, I’d say the eggs came out pretty good, and they sure were tasty. I stuck with low-heat for the sunny side up, and medium-high heat for the over-easy and over-well eggs.

Left: Sunny Side Up, Over-Easy, Over-Well

Left: Sunny Side Up, Over-Easy, Over-Well

 

Fried egg three ways, showing the broken yolks.

Fried egg three ways, showing the broken yolks.

One thought on “Fried Egg 3 Ways

Leave a Reply

