Savory Steamed Eggs

I really enjoy eating steamed eggs, they are very mild, and when cooked properly come out like a more flavorful silken tofu. It’s often served in restaurants with seafood or vegetables mixed in, and then served with a little soy sauce and/or sesame oil drizzled over the top. For this endeavor, I chose to follow the recipe posted on the Taste Hong Kong blog, with the addition of a splash of Shaoxing rice wine (紹興酒), which was recommended by the cook at my school.

To prepare the eggs I whisked together 2 eggs, 6 half-shells of water (see the picture), and a splash of the Shaoxing. Then I strained the mixture through the sieve into two Pyrex dishes – one empty and one with Sanxing green onions (三星蔥).

First, I steamed the plain version with nothing added to the egg mixture. Then, I steamed the other batch with fresh green onions added in (my favorite way to have the dish). Each batch took about 13 minutes, and was steamed in a Pyrex dish covered with aluminum foil. After five minutes, I shifted the dish on the steaming tray to make sure that the eggs would be cooked evenly. I checked the eggs at the ten minute mark by tapping the side of the dish with a wooden spoon, but it was still quite runny. I checked again at 13 minutes and when tapped, the eggs jiggled but did not show any liquid movement. I removed it from the steam and let it sit, covered, for a few minutes to make sure that the eggs had fully set. Both batches came out beautifully. I love the flavor that the spring onions add to the dish when cooked with the eggs, and they brighten the dish up visually. Since the eggs are not cooked with any salt or seasoning (other than the splash of Shaoxing), I recommend drizzling a bit of soy sauce over the eggs before digging in.

Using the egg shells to measure out the water.

Using the egg shells to measure out the water.

Savory steamed eggs with Sanxing green onions.

Savory steamed eggs with Sanxing green onions.

Leave a Reply

