Steamed Egg Pudding

While making the savory steamed eggs, I decided to try to make their sweet counterpart – steamed egg pudding. It’s essentially a simple eggy custard. Again, I used the recipe posted on the Taste Hong Kong blog, with a few minor adjustments. I added a few drops of vanilla extract and used less sugar than she recommended.

While preparing the savory and sweet steamed eggs, I was careful to open them by cracking off the top of each egg, then saving the shells. (I’ll explain why soon.) To prepare the pudding, the milk and sugar in a saucepan over low-heat until the sugar dissolves. Then set it to the side to cool. While it was cooling, I cleaned the membrane out of the egg shells and sterilized them by boiling them with vinegar, and put them aside to dry. Whisk the sweet milk with two eggs and two drops of vanilla extract. Strain the mixture through a sieve to separate the bubbles and any impurities from the egg, then pour it into steam safe dishes. In this case, I decided to use the egg shells to steam the pudding in, so that it would make cute single serving portions. I only had four sterilized egg shells though, so I put the extra into a small Pyrex dish.

I used a small yogurt cup to pour the egg mixture into the shells, filling them about 80%. To steam the eggs I positioned three in a small bowl such that they would stay vertically oriented, and covered the bowl with aluminum foil. It took about 15 minutes for the top of the pudding to appear set. I tested one egg, and found that the inside was still a little runny, so I filled the small bowl they were in with boiling water, covered it, and let it sit for five minutes. After that, the pudding was set, but was not overcooked or bubbly, and was still silky smooth.

I decided to get a little creative with a few of them, and added a hardened caramelized top (à la crème brûlée). I don’t have a torch so I had to make do with a lighter. It worked alright, it could have used a more heat for a little longer, but I was afraid of burning the pudding since it was taking so long to heat the sugar. When tapped with a spoon the top gave that immensely satisfying crack, and that was all I needed to be satisfied with this attempt!

Sterilized egg shells ready for pudding mixture.

Sterilized egg shells ready for pudding mixture.

Silky pudding eggs.

Egg pudding with a hardened caramelized top.

Egg pudding with a hardened caramelized top.

Leave a Reply

